Treasurer - Vehicle Sales and
treasurer collects a sales or use tax on all vehicle purchases
except motorcycles purchased from a Wyoming dealer. Sales
tax applies where the purchase of the vehicle occurred in
Wyoming. Use tax applies where the purchase occurred outside
of Wyoming and is for the use, storage or consumption of
the vehicle within Wyoming. A sales or use tax is due prior
to first registration of a vehicle but must be paid within
50 days from the date of purchase to avoid penalties and
interest, regardless of the date the temporary permit expires.
That date will be extended to the next business day if this
office is closed on the 50th day. If the tax is not paid
on or before the 50th day, there will be a penalty of $25.00.
If payment occurs on day 61 or thereafter, the penalty will
be the greater of $25.00 or 10% of the tax due. Interest
will also be charged at 1% per month or any fraction of a
month beginning with day 51.
or use tax due can be paid without registering the vehicle.
This can be done without a Wyoming title but requires a dealer
invoice, purchase order or notarized bill of sale specifying:
• Vehicle Identification Number
• Date of Purchase
If a newly
acquired vehicle is a gift, proof that the giver paid sales
or use tax is required. This can be in the form of a paid
receipt or prior registration. Sales or use tax will be collected
on the fair market value absent the required proof.
active duty military are not exempt from the payment of sales
or use taxes on any vehicle purchase.
Sales & Use
tax rate is determined 6%. For sales and use tax rates of all Wyoming Counties,
visit the Wyoming Department of Revenue’s website at: