Treasurer Home
Property Tax
Motor Vehicles
Other Information
Vehicle Registration

Wyoming Statutes dictate the calculation of all registration fees. Therefore, the fees are the same no matter what county a vehicle is registered in. However, the county that collects the fees keeps and distributes the money to the taxing entities in their county. Therefore, residents are encouraged to register vehicles in the county where they reside.

Registration fees consist of two parts:

  • County Fee - an ad valorem tax, meaning a tax based on the value of the vehicle. Therefore, it is usually the portion allowed as a deduction on IRS tax returns. The county fee is distributed monthly to the taxing entities (schools, city, county, etc) in the county.
  • State Fee - a fee levied by and sent to the State of Wyoming.

The County Fee is calculated using the following formula:

Factory Cost x Year of Service Rate x .03 = County Fee

The Factory Cost is the MSRP (Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price or Sticker Price) of the make, model, and trim level of a vehicle when new.The Clerk's Office determines the factory cost and places it on titles.

Which Year of Service the vehicle is in determines the rate at which it's taxed, as follows:

1st Year: 60%
2nd Year: 50%
3rd Year: 40%
4th Year: 30%
5th Year: 20%
6th Year or More: 15%

In other words, a new vehicle is taxed at a rate of 60% and a vehicle 6 years or older is taxed at 15%. So, a new vehicle having a factory cost of $20,000 would have a County Fee of:

$20000 x 60% x .03 = $360.00

State Fee Increase for Registrations
July 1, 2017

On July 1, 2017, the State Fee for each registration in the state will be increased depending on what is registered. We have provided a quick chart that shows the increased Fees below.

  Old Fees New Fees
Cars $15 $30
Motorcycle & MPVs $12 $25
Trucks & Trailers    
1000 lbs. or less $2 $5
1001-3500 lbs. $15 $30
3501-4500 lbs. $20 $40
4501-5500 lbs. $30 $50
5501-6000 lbs. $40 $70
6001 lbs. or more $60 $90

Commercial will increase 10%

2017 License Plates

These License Plates will be available with registrations that have a 2018 expiration date.